27/03/2020 | Steven Marshall MP

Movement into certain remote areas across South Australia is being restricted to help slow the spread of COVID-19.

From 11:59pm  last night (26 March 2020), anyone wishing to enter a designated community  needs to self-isolate for 14 days before they can do so. This includes residents of those communities.

The decision comes after National Cabinet provided in-principle agreement to the Commonwealth Minister for Health taking action under the Commonwealth Biosecurity Act 2015 to restrict travel into remote Indigenous communities to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Restrictions apply to areas on which the following communities are located:

  • Davenport
  • Dunjiba
  • Gerard
  • Point Pearce
  • Yalata
  • Nepabunna (excluding Iga Wata)
  • Yarilena.

Movement into Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara and Maralinga Tjarutja will also be restricted.

Premier Steven Marshall said that for most community members, the safest place is in their communities.

“These measures are being put in place to protect some of our most vulnerable South Australians and to  minimise the risk of the virus entering more remote areas where medical facilities are limited,” said Mr Marshall.

.“We know that community members rely on visiting and outreach activities so essential personnel will be exempt from these restrictions to ensure they can keep delivering these important services.

The State Government will support those who do not have appropriate alternate arrangements to self-isolate.

A designated SAPOL officer will permit people to enter   a community in certain circumstances.