16/04/2018 | David Speirs MP | Better Services | More Jobs

The State Government has confirmed that South Australia’s River Murray water access entitlement holders will receive a 100 per cent water allocation in the 2018-19 water year.

South Australia is expected to receive its full Entitlement Flow of 1,850 gigalitres which will provide greater certainty for irrigators and our environment.

“This is a huge win for South Australia’s environment, our irrigators and importantly local jobs,” said Minister for Environment and Water David Speirs.

“Opening water allocations of 100 per cent provides South Australian irrigators with a degree of certainty and confidence going into the next growing season.

“Hopefully with 100 per cent water allocations our irrigators can grow their businesses and increase the amount of produce they export.

“The State Government has a strong plan to improve the business environment in South Australia and increase our exports which will bring more dollars into our economy and support more local jobs.

“The River Murray is the lifeblood of so many of our regional communities and supports South Australia’s $1.25 billion horticulture industry, much of which comes out of the Riverland.

“A healthy river is also very important for our environment right across the state, from our Riverland down to our lower lakes and Coorong district.

“I am going to continue to work constructively with the Federal and other State Governments to ensure we get the best possible outcome for South Australia as far as the River Murray is concerned.

“Unlike the previous Labor administration I refuse to use the River as a political tool for political gain.

“Instead I am going to be working tirelessly to ensure we have a strong and healthy river that can support our primary industries and importantly, look after the natural environment that is dependent on our river.”

Private carryover will not be made available in 2018-19 as water users will have access to 100 per cent water allocations.

South Australian River Murray water allocations are based on water resource conditions and an analysis of future water availability provided by the Murray-Darling Basin Authority.

The Department for Environment and Water is responsible for administering water trade in South Australia.