27/06/2019 | Stephan Knoll MP

The Marshall Government has appointed four experts to the South Australian Public Transport Authority Advisory Board (SAPTA) effective 1 July 2019.

The following four appointees have extensive experience in public transport at all levels of government in Australia and overseas allowing SAPTA to draw on advice, experience and expert knowledge;

  • Mr Reece Waldock (Presiding Member)
  • Ms Monica Ryu (Member)
  • Mr Fergus Gammie (Member)
  • Mr Chris Vounasis (Member).

Presiding member, and former Chief Executive of the Public Transport Authority in Western Australia, Mr Waldock will lead the SAPTA Advisory Board in providing independent, external advice and guidance as it delivers a broad, customer-focused reform program for the state’s public transport services.

Mr Waldock was appointed the inaugural head of three Transport agencies, Director-General of the WA Department of Transport, Commissioner of Main Roads Western Australia and Chief Executive Officer of the Public Transport Authority. Prior to his public sector career Mr Waldock held a number of senior management roles with BHP.

Mr Waldock is currently Chair of Lifeline WA, Chair of the Kimberley Port Authority, Chair of the Planning and Research Centre (PATREC), a Commissioner of National Transport Commission (NTC) and a Board Member of Infrastructure Australia.

He is joined by Ms Ryu who has more than 20 years’ experience advising public and private sectors in surface transport, rail, freight and logistics, aviation and infrastructure. Her expertise covers commercial and market implications of new mobility and transport innovation.

Mr Gammie has significant experience leading organisations in delivering infrastructure projects and customer service improvements. He is the former Chief Executive of the New Zealand Transport Agency, responsible for establishing New Zealand’s first light rail project. Prior to this he held senior public sector roles in Public Transport Infrastructure and Service delivery in Sydney and Auckland.

Mr Vounasis has more than18 years of planning experience in both local government and private sector, driving strategic planning and land use development.  He currently holds positions on multiple boards and Councils in the property, development and business industry associations.

All public transport operational, maintenance and customer services functions are transitioning from DPTI to SAPTA from 1 July, 2019.

The advisory board will oversee the functions of SAPTA with the presiding member reporting to the Minister for Transport, Infrastructure and Local Government.

“SAPTA will be charged with improving South Australia’s public transport network and delivering better and more customer focussed services,” said Minister for Transport, Infrastructure and Local Government Stephan Knoll.

“We have assembled an experienced team with great technical expertise that will provide frank and fearless advice to government.

“Public transport patronage growth has basically stalled over the last decade and we need to provide a better service to encourage more South Australians to catch a bus, train or tram.

“That’s why the Marshall Government is investing heavily in public transport infrastructure, including securing $220 million Commonwealth contribution for the $615 million Gawler line electrification project, delivering the $125 million Flinders Link project and investing $33.5 million for Park ‘n’ Rides along the O-Bahn.

“I look forward to working with SAPTA and having their expert input to help shape the future of South Australia’s public transport network.”