13/11/2020 | Steven Marshall MP

In recognition of extraordinary leadership during South Australia’s response to the COVID-19 national health emergency, the Premier will acknowledge several Aboriginal communities and leadership groups through a leadership award ceremony next month.

The Premier’s COVID-19 Aboriginal Community Leadership Awards will recognise the outstanding leadership and collaborative approach taken by Aboriginal communities in keeping Aboriginal South Australians safe. The community leaders provided an important link between community residents and South Australian Government agencies tasked with the emergency response.

Premier Steven Marshall said the awards are a significant way to acknowledge the tireless efforts of so many communities and leadership groups.

“As we reach the conclusion of NAIDOC Week for 2020, which this year is focussed on recognising that First Nations people have occupied and cared for this continent for over 65,000 years, the South Australian Government also recognises the strength and resilience shown by Aboriginal communities and leadership groups during the national health emergency response to COVID-19,” said Premier Marshall.

“COVID-19 has highlighted the increased vulnerability of Aboriginal people and communities. But the community’s response to these challenges, in collaboration with South Australian Government agencies, has been the key to keeping South Australian Aboriginal communities COVID-free.”

The awards will also express the Premier’s thanks and appreciation to each and every community leader that negotiated the complex and sometimes very difficult Designated Area measures enacted under the Commonwealth Biosecurity Act.

The Premier’s COVID-19 Aboriginal Community Leadership Awards will be announced in mid-December at a formal awards event.

Further information, including a list of award recipient communities and leadership groups, will be available after the event at https://www.dpc.sa.gov.au/responsibilities/aboriginal-affairs-and-reconciliation