28/07/2020 | Steven Marshall MP

Premier Steven Marshall has today announced the makeup of his new Ministry who will continue to drive South Australia’s recovery from the global COVID-19 pandemic.

Amidst the greatest health and economic challenge of our time, the new Cabinet is committed to implementing the Government’s strong plan to keep South Australians safe and in jobs, and ensure our state emerges from the pandemic stronger than before.

The team blends critical experience and stability in key portfolio areas, with talented new members who will bring a fresh perspective, energy, enthusiasm and skillsets to their roles.

“Today I am announcing a team who will provide the necessary stability and experience to continue our important work in keeping South Australians safe and strong during these incredibly challenging times,” said Premier Marshall.

“My new Cabinet brings together a wealth of experience and expertise in key portfolio areas, with some incredibly talented new Ministers who will add fresh energy, enthusiasm and skills to their roles.

“Together, we will continue to work tirelessly for the people of South Australia on the important work they elected us to do to create jobs, improve services and reduce household and business costs.”

The Government is delivering:

  • Strong protection to South Australians from COVID-19 to keep our community safe and businesses operating;
  • A record $12.9 billion infrastructure spend, creating thousands of local jobs;
  • Significant savings to businesses and families by slashing water bills and cutting taxes;
  • The continued roll-out of the state’s $1 billion economic stimulus package to support businesses, not-for-profits and local jobs impacted by COVID-19.

Changes to the Ministry include:

  • The Attorney-General will assume the additional responsibility of Planning and Local Government;
  • Minister Corey Wingard will be appointed Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, while retaining Recreation, Sport and Racing;
  • Current Speaker of the House, Vincent Tarzia will join the Cabinet to become the Minister for Police, Emergency Services and Correctional Services;
  • Member for Finniss, David Basham will be elevated to Cabinet to become the Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development;
  • Member for Morphett, Stephen Patterson will also be elevated to Cabinet to become the Minister for Trade and Investment.

Premier Marshall thanked Mr Stephan Knoll, Mr Tim Whetstone and Hon David Ridgway for their services.