18/11/2021 | Michelle Lensink MLC | Better Services

A fierce child protection advocate, a pioneering gynaecologist and a domestic violence leader are among 19 outstanding South Australian women who were last night inducted into the prestigious SA Women’s Honour Roll.

Held every two years, the Honour Roll acknowledges and celebrates the diversity of women in our community and their commitment to effecting change.

Last night, the women were recognised at a reception at Government House, hosted by Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia, and Mr Rod Bunten.

Minister for Human Services Michelle Lensink congratulated the new inductees for going above and beyond in their exceptional contributions to the South Australian community as leaders, inspiring role models and champions of change.

“Each and every one of these women are inspiring our next generation of women leaders by showing just how much is possible,” said Minister Lensink.

“Their work reflects the many South Australian women actively involved in making a difference in our community in everything from medicine, to child protection, domestic violence and the arts.

“I congratulate these remarkable women on their diverse work and volunteering efforts which have each made rich and important contributions to our society.

“This year’s Honour Roll inductees stand as a testament to what South Australian women can achieve.”

Minister Lensink said the Marshall Liberal Government’s new Women’s Leadership and Economic Security Strategy 2021-24 has a strong focus on increasing recognition and visibility of female leaders and role models as an important step in achieving gender equality.

“The Marshall Liberal Government is focused on supporting our women and our young girls so they can thrive now and into the future,” said Minister Lensink.

Eligible women included in the SA Women's Honour Roll are nominated for the Australian of the Year Awards each year to provide national recognition for the contribution they make to the community.

For more information on the full list of women honoured, please visit the Office for Women website at https://officeforwomen.sa.gov.au/womens-policy/womens-leadership/awards-and-honours.

The 2021 Women’s Honour Roll inductees are:

  • Shazia Choudhry - A champion for women from CALD and Muslim backgrounds
  • Maureen Christie - Environmental champion and community educator
  • Rikki Cooke - foster carer, social worker, single mum and CEO and founder of Treasure Boxes
  • Georgia Davies-Thain - Campaigner for sex worker rights
  • Sabrina Davis - Humans of Kangaroo Island founder and community fundraiser
  • Estela Fuentes - Building wellbeing and resilience in the Spanish speaking community
  • Alison Hams - Acclaimed country musician and dedicated philanthropist
  • Genevieve Handley - Health activist for people with cystic fibrosis
  • Dr Annie Hensley MBE (1901–1989) - Pioneering doctor in the treatment of diphtheria
  • Vicki Holmes – tireless advocate and leader for healthy Aboriginal communities
  • Dorothy Hunt MBE (1900–1985) - Steadfast community member and founder of the Bordertown CWA
  • Dr Christine Kirby - Pioneering female gynaecologist and trailblazer in In Vitro Fertilisation
  • GenĂ©ne Kleppe - Dedicated advocate for women in STEM
  • Kathy Lilis - Champion of the domestic and family violence sector
  • Vida Maney OAM - committed leader and volunteer in the Mundulla community.
  • Caroline (Carol) Murray (1916–1988) - Bordertown community leader and namesake of the local kindergarten
  • Dr Pamela Schulz OAM - Mentoring women leaders and supporting veterans
  • Dinah Thomasset-Hearn - founder of Villagehood Australia, supporting women to value themselves as mothers
  • Belinda Valentine - Advocate for vulnerable children and safer and stronger families