ANZAC spirit takes SA students to Vietnam

Chosen from over 450 entries, 13 South Australian students are the recipients of a once in a lifetime study tour to Vietnam this October as part of the 2017 Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize. 

The competition is designed to give year 9 and 10 students insight into the history of World War 1 by researching a South Australian soldier or nurse who served between 1914 and 1918.  

This is the second year the tour for the prize is travelling to Vietnam where students will participate in commemoration activities and a variety of learning experiences as they travel between Ho Chi Min City, Vang Tau, Da Nang, Hue and Hanoi. 

Winning students will undertake further research on a soldier who served in Vietnam between 1962 and 1972, and students will conduct commemoration activities for the soldier they have studied. 

2017 Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize winners

  • Abbie Nourse, Nuriootpa High School
  • Alicia Crowhurst, Investigator College
  • Alyssa Siebert, Lock Area School
  • Hannah Brown, St Peters Girls
  • Hannah Zerk, Lock Area School
  • Jasmin Grist, Investigator College
  • Jessica Timms, Yorketown Area School
  • Josh Loxton, Loxton High School
  • Joshua Berman, Mark Oliphant College
  • Laura Stephens, Cabra Dominican College
  • Lily Bright, Loxton High School
  • Lucy Fielke, Cornerstone College
  • Metala Burgess, Nuriootpa High School


The Premiers ANZAC Spirit School Prize is in its 10th year and has seen 108 students travel to the battlefields of the Western Front, Gallipoli, South Korea, Singapore and Vietnam. 

Quotes attributable to Education and Child Development Minister Susan Close  

There were some absolutely incredible entries this year and it’s great we have been able to continue to provide our students with hands on learning experiences such as the Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize. 

Through the Prize we have been able to continue our strong relationship with the Returned Services League South Australian Branch (RSL SA) and the students are fortunate to have one of their delegates traveling with them who will provide important military history background and conduct the commemoration services. 

Whether or not students are recipients of the prize, this competition is a powerful learning exercise for all students who entered as it allows them to understand why World War 1 and other conflicts Australians were involved in in the 20th Century continue to be such significant historical events for our society.

SA’s best educators shine at the Public Education Awards

South Australia’s best and brightest in public education were awarded for their valuable work and dedication to improving the learning outcomes of children and young people at the 2017 Public Education Awards ceremony last night. 

This year the award categories were expanded, opening up the opportunity to thank outstanding employees across the state - including leaders, teachers, allied health professionals, support workers and corporate employees. 

The 10 winners were awarded up to $10,000 and 20 runners up were awarded $2,000 towards their choice of professional development. 

2017 Winners

  • Teachers Health Leadership award – Margot McDougall, Principal, Hospital School SA
  • Secondary Teaching – Tammy Cane, Campus Manager Independent Learning Centre, Naracoorte High School 
  • Credit Union SA Primary Teacher of the year – Clint Beard, Teacher, Poonindie Community Learning Centre
  • Early Years Teacher of the year – Sandra Kelly, Teacher of the deaf, Klemzig Auslan Bilingual Preschool
  • School and Preschool Support award – Hannah Dayman, Trade Schools Support Officer, Kadina Memorial School
  • System Excellence award – Suzie Cottle, Early Childhood Leader, Mount Gambier Regional Office
  • Aunty Josie Agius award – Joanne Smith, Preschool Director, Port Lincoln Children’s Centre
  • Community Engagement award – Aldinga Beach Children’s Centre
  • Innovation and Practice award – Scott Dirix, Senior Leader, Alternative Programs, Salisbury East High School
  • Performance Through Values award – Natasha Chisholm, Aboriginal Training Transition and Employment Officer, Para Hills Education Office


Finalists were selected from a number of nominations received from students, staff, parents and the wider community. 

Nominations opened Monday 1 May and closed on Wednesday 31 May. Finalists were announced on Monday 21 August. 

Quotes attributable to Education and Child Development Minister Susan Close 

It’s such an honour that we have the opportunity to recognise and reward the significant outcomes achieved by some of South Australia’s best and brightest within public education. 

Every one of the winners, finalists and nominees should be proud of their contribution to public education and I hope this recognition inspires them to continue their great work. 

Whether in schools and preschools or the corporate team, every one of the nominees strives to improve the educational outcomes of children and young people across the state.