An historic agreement between the Ngarrindjeri Regional Authority and the South Australian Government was signed today in Murray Bridge.

The Aboriginal Regional Authority Recognition Agreement is a commitment between the two parties to work more collaboratively, to enhance the voice of Ngarrindjeri people, driving key priorities and economic growth.

The agreement recognises the Ngarrindjeri Regional Authority as the lead regional decisionmaker.

The signing of South Australia’s first Agreement represents another significant step towards Reconciliation.


The State Government’s Aboriginal Regional Authority Policy aims to give Aboriginal nations greater power to determine how they will work with government to drive improvement in outcomes for Aboriginal South Australians.

The Ngarrindjeri Regional Authority represents the Ngarrindjeri people of the Lower River Murray and Coorong region.

The Authority has been a pioneer of Aboriginal nation-building in South Australia, entering into a landmark agreement with the government in 2009 which made Ngarrindjeri involvement central in critical water and land management programs along the Lower Murray and Coorong.

Quotes attributable to Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation Minister Kyam Maher

It is a pleasure to be signing this agreement with one of the first Aboriginal Regional Authorities.

I pay tribute to Aunty Eunice Aston for her leadership as Chair of the Ngarrindjeri Regional Authority and look forward to working together for the benefit of all Ngarrindjeri.

Our Aboriginal Regional Authority Policy is a commitment to work more collaboratively with Aboriginal communities, and to strengthen the relationship between the government and all Aboriginal South Australians.