The management of Leigh Creek’s water and sewerage services will soon be transferred to SA Water, as part of a transition of the township’s management from Flinders Power Partnership to the State Government.

From 14 December 2016, SA Water will operate and maintain the town’s desalination plant, sewerage treatment site, bores and related pipework.

As per the existing arrangement with Flinders Power, water and sewerage services will also be provided rate-free up until 1 January 2018, with the costs incurred during this time borne by the State Government.

From 2018, all new SA Water customers in Leigh Creek will be charged standard water and sewerage rates, consistent with that of SA Water customers across the state.


The drinking water for all new SA Water customers in the Leigh creek area will be sourced from the same existing series of bores near the town, and then desalinated and treated to meet Australian Drinking Water Guidelines.

SA Water will also be supplying water to some external providers who service areas outside of the Leigh Creek township, such as the Lyndhurst and District Progress Association and the Outback Communities Authority.

SA Water already has a strong presence in the region, with operations based in Port Augusta and Quorn and a serviced area as far north as Marla and Oodnadatta.

Quotes attributable to Water and the River Murray Minister Ian Hunter

The State Government is committed to helping secure the social and economic future of the Leigh Creek township, including supporting the continued provision of essential services such as water and sewerage.

The State Government is ensuring Leigh Creek residents continue to receive the same level of service and quality of water supply as the town transitions over the next 12 months.

SA Water will employ three new staff members in the township, on top of existing staff at Quorn, Crystal Brook and Port Augusta.