A new conservation park has been created on Yorke Peninsula, and three existing parks in the Adelaide Hills and South East have been extended, adding a total of 1174 hectares to the State’s parks network.

Nearly $110,000 in grants have been awarded to 24 community-based groups in the Adelaide and Mt Lofty Ranges region for projects to enhance and protect their local environment.

South Australia’s Immerse Yourself summer holiday marine programme is back again with over 100 organised activities from snorkelling to sand-castle competitions being held in the state’s marine parks.

The South Australian Government is supporting a research fund established in memory of Professor Michael Bull, a university academic of high standing in local, national and international ecological circles.

South Australia will have a duck and quail season in 2018, with hunters able to take the full bag of 12 ducks per hunter per day for the first time since 2013.

Veteran journalist and TV presenter Keith Conlon OAM has been appointed as the new chair of the South Australian Heritage Council.

SA Water will reduce its demand on the grid and increase its renewable energy generation and storage capacity in an ambitious plan to achieve zero net electricity costs within the next three years.

The Commonwealth Government has failed to deliver strong and decisive action on climate change in its 2017 Review of Climate Change Policies.

The State Government is providing more than $2.5 million of funding to support councils to introduce and maintain household food waste recycling.

New South Wales and Victoria are delaying the release of an independent expert report commissioned by former Water Minister Barnaby Joyce that provides recommendations on how Basin states can return water for the environment.

Work will commence this week on upgrades to ensure that one of the state’s most popular trails will continue to offer an enjoyable and sustainable visitor experience into the future.

South Australia is deeply disappointed with Victoria and New South Wales for refusing to commit to delivery of the promised 450GL of water in the Murray-Darling Basin Plan and has withdrawn its support for the 605GL sustainable diversion limits package sought by other states.